CEFR levels

There are 6 difficulty levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2.

A1 is the easiest, for beginners. C2 is the hardest, for people who understand the language as well as a native.

This scale is known as the CEFR. We have invented our own way of labelling and describing these levels, to make them easier to understand.

Each story has been given a CEFR level. But this is not an exact science. In fact, it isn’t possible to give any text an exact and reliable score for how difficult it is. So, use the levels as a guide only. Even if you stay at the same level, sometimes you may find the stories harder or easier. That’s all part of the fun of learning!

What do the levels mean?

You can read more about the official definition of the CEFR levels online. On Fabulang, here is what they mean for the language you are reading.

A1 – “Beginner”
Mostly present tense, short simple sentences, common vocabulary.
A2 – “Essentials”
Mostly past tense, short and medium sentences, wider vocabulary.
B1 – “Functional”
Wider variety of tenses, more complex sentences, rarer vocabulary.
B2 – “Confident”
More complex expressions and phrases, generally more descriptive, rarer vocabulary.
C1 – “Fluent”
All tenses used naturally, complex sentences, advanced vocabulary and expressions.
C2 – “Native”
Written with no limitations on complexity, much as a native speaker would write.

Which level am I?

Don’t worry about it. Just pick a level, and try to understand the story. If it’s too hard or easy, try a different level. You’ll quickly work out the right level for you.

But don’t feel limited to one level. Try going up and down to vary the challenge. Challenge yourself. You’ll be surprised how much you can understand.